The LORD IS LONGSUFFERING AND OF GREAT MERCY

Numbers 14:16-23 KJV

Because the Lord was not able to bring this people into the land which he sware unto them, therefore he hath slain them in the wilderness. 

[17] And now, I beseech thee, let the power of my Lord be great, according as thou hast spoken, saying, 

[18] The Lord is longsuffering, and of great mercy, forgiving iniquity and transgression, and by no means clearing the guilty , visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children unto the third and fourth generation . 

[19] Pardon, I beseech thee, the iniquity of this people according unto the greatness of thy mercy, and as thou hast forgiven this people, from Egypt even until now. 
[20] And the Lord said, I have pardoned according to thy word: 

[21] But as truly as I live, all the earth shall be filled with the glory of the Lord . 
[22] Because all those men which have seen my glory, and my miracles, which I did in Egypt and in the wilderness, and have tempted me now these ten times, and have not hearkened to my voice; 

[23] Surely they shall not see the land which I sware unto their fathers, neither shall any of them that provoked me see it:

Nahum 1:3,7 NKJV

The LORD is slow to anger and great in power, And will not at all acquit the wicked. The LORD has His way In the whirlwind and in the storm, And the clouds are the dust of His feet. [7] The LORD is good, A stronghold in the day of trouble; And He knows those who trust in Him.


And he said, I will make all my goodness pass before thee, and I will proclaim the name of the LORD before thee; and will be gracious to whom I will be gracious, and will shew mercy on whom I will shew mercy. 

(Exodus 33:19)

God’s will is His own and no man may triumph over it. Nor can any man judge whom God ought show mercy or grace. The motives of God are His own. And they are good. How thankful we ought be when we recognize that we, the redeemed, are the objects of that very mercy! Rejoice, believer, that though undeserving, you have become the eternal recipient of such unmerited favour!

John 16:33

These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.

Leave a Reply

