How Do We Know The Bible Is Gods Word?

image

How Do We Know The Bible Is Gods Word?

The Bible claims for itself VERBAL INSPIRATION.

This is the doctrine that God chose to BREATHE His words through His prophets, that these prophets SPOKE God’s words, and that these words were later reduced to the writings that we know today as the Holy Scriptures.

2 Timothy 3:16-17 KJV
All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness: [17] That the man of God may be perfect, throughly furnished unto all good works.

2 Peter 1:20-21 KJV
Knowing this first, that no prophecy of the scripture is of any private interpretation. [21] For the prophecy came not in old time by the will of man: but holy men of God spake as they were moved by the Holy Ghost.

2 Samuel 23:2 KJV
The Spirit of the Lord spake by me, and his word was in my tongue.

Jeremiah 1:8-9 KJV
Be not afraid of their faces: for I am with thee to deliver thee, saith the Lord . [9] Then the Lord put forth his hand, and touched my mouth. And the Lord said unto me, Behold, I have put my words in thy mouth.

Luke 1:70 KJV
As he spake by the mouth of his holy prophets, which have been since the world began:

Christians generally believe this doctrine by faith alone, which is good, but can it be proven?

Yes, it can. Any reasonable person would accept the following arguments as legitimate proof for the inspiration of Scripture.

The Bible Is A Negative Book
Why would man write a book to condemn his own race?
From cover to cover the Bible is NEGATIVE toward man. It utterly condemns man.

Psalm 39:4-6 KJV
Lord , make me to know mine end, and the measure of my days, what it is; that I may know how frail I am . [5] Behold, thou hast made my days as an handbreadth; and mine age is as nothing before thee: verily every man at his best state is altogether vanity. Selah. [6] Surely every man walketh in a vain shew: surely they are disquieted in vain: he heapeth up riches , and knoweth not who shall gather them.

Isaiah 64:6 KJV
But we are all as an unclean thing , and all our righteousnesses are as filthy rags; and we all do fade as a leaf; and our iniquities, like the wind, have taken us away.

Romans 3:10-18 KJV
As it is written, There is none righteous, no, not one: [11] There is none that understandeth, there is none that seeketh after God. [12] They are all gone out of the way, they are together become unprofitable; there is none that doeth good, no, not one. [13] Their throat is an open sepulchre; with their tongues they have used deceit; the poison of asps is under their lips: [14] Whose mouth is full of cursing and bitterness: [15] Their feet are swift to shed blood: [16] Destruction and misery are in their ways: [17] And the way of peace have they not known: [18] There is no fear of God before their eyes.

John 3:18 KJV
He that believeth on him is not condemned: but he that believeth not is condemned already, because he hath not believed in the name of the only begotten Son of God.

Jeremiah 17:9-10 KJV
The heart is deceitful above all things , and desperately wicked: who can know it? [10] I the Lord search the heart, I try the reins, even to give every man according to his ways, and according to the fruit of his doings.

Psalm 51:5 KJV
Behold, I was shapen in iniquity; and in sin did my mother conceive me.

The Bible Is An Authoritative Book
Most ancient writings do not even profess inspiration, but the Bible professes not only to be inspired, but to be the ONLY inspired writing.

Isaiah 8:20 KJV
To the law and to the testimony: if they speak not according to this word, it is because there is no light in them.

Psalm 107:19-21 NKJV
Then they cried out to the LORD in their trouble, And He saved them out of their distresses. [20] He sent His word and healed them, And delivered them from their destructions. [21] Oh, that men would give thanks to the LORD for His goodness, And for His wonderful works to the children of men!

The central character of the Bible, the Lord Jesus Christ, professes to be the ONLY way to Heaven. Unlike the ancient philosophers, the men of the Bible are men who speak with great power, certainty, and authority.

The Bible Is An Infallible Book
Although many have tried, and are still trying, no one has ever proven that there are mistakes in the Bible (KJV).

All apparent errors and contradictions can be explained Scripture with Scripture and by closely studying the context.

The Bible Is An Old Book
It’s the oldest REAL book in the world. It was the first book printed on a press.

image

The Bible Is A Prophetic Book
While other ancient writings do not even attempt prophecy, the Bible attempts it and fulfills it! One only has to consider a few Old Testament prophecies about the life of Christ to see this.

Numbers 24:17-19 KJV
I shall see him, but not now: I shall behold him, but not nigh: there shall come a Star out of Jacob, and a Sceptre shall rise out of Israel, and shall smite the corners of Moab, and destroy all the children of Sheth. [18] And Edom shall be a possession, Seir also shall be a possession for his enemies; and Israel shall do valiantly. [19] Out of Jacob shall come he that shall have dominion, and shall destroy him that remaineth of the city.

Genesis 49:10 KJV
The sceptre shall not depart from Judah, nor a lawgiver from between his feet, until Shiloh come; and unto him shall the gathering of the people be .

Micah 5:2 KJV
But thou, Beth-lehem Ephratah, though thou be little among the thousands of Judah, yet out of thee shall he come forth unto me that is to be ruler in Israel; whose goings forth have been from of old, from everlasting.

Isaiah 7:14 KJV
Therefore the Lord himself shall give you a sign; Behold, a virgin shall conceive, and bear a son, and shall call his name Immanuel.

Hosea 11:1 KJV
When Israel was a child, then I loved him, and called my son out of Egypt.

Isaiah 53:1-12 KJV
Who hath believed our report? and to whom is the arm of the Lord revealed? [2] For he shall grow up before him as a tender plant, and as a root out of a dry ground: he hath no form nor comeliness; and when we shall see him, there is no beauty that we should desire him. [3] He is despised and rejected of men; a man of sorrows, and acquainted with grief: and we hid as it were our faces from him; he was despised, and we esteemed him not. [4] Surely he hath borne our griefs, and carried our sorrows: yet we did esteem him stricken, smitten of God, and afflicted. [5] But he was wounded for our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and with his stripes we are healed. [6] All we like sheep have gone astray; we have turned every one to his own way; and the Lord hath laid on him the iniquity of us all. [7] He was oppressed, and he was afflicted, yet he opened not his mouth: he is brought as a lamb to the slaughter, and as a sheep before her shearers is dumb, so he openeth not his mouth. [8] He was taken from prison and from judgment: and who shall declare his generation? for he was cut off out of the land of the living: for the transgression of my people was he stricken. [9] And he made his grave with the wicked, and with the rich in his death; because he had done no violence, neither was any deceit in his mouth. [10] Yet it pleased the Lord to bruise him; he hath put him to grief: when thou shalt make his soul an offering for sin, he shall see his seed, he shall prolong his days, and the pleasure of the Lord shall prosper in his hand. [11] He shall see of the travail of his soul, and shall be satisfied: by his knowledge shall my righteous servant justify many; for he shall bear their iniquities. [12] Therefore will I divide him a portion with the great, and he shall divide the spoil with the strong; because he hath poured out his soul unto death: and he was numbered with the transgressors; and he bare the sin of many, and made intercession for the transgressors.

Zechariah 9:9 KJV
Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion; shout, O daughter of Jerusalem: behold, thy King cometh unto thee: he is just, and having salvation; lowly, and riding upon an ass, and upon a colt the foal of an ass.

Psalm 69:21 KJV
They gave me also gall for my meat; and in my thirst they gave me vinegar to drink.

Psalm 34:20 KJV
He keepeth all his bones: not one of them is broken.

Psalm 16:10 KJV
For thou wilt not leave my soul in hell; neither wilt thou suffer thine Holy One to see corruption.

Psalm 41:9 KJV
Yea, mine own familiar friend, in whom I trusted, which did eat of my bread, hath lifted up his heel against me.

Isaiah 33:22 KJV
For the Lord is our judge, the Lord is our lawgiver, the Lord is our king; he will save us.

Zechariah 11:12 KJV
And I said unto them, If ye think good, give me my price; and if not, forbear. So they weighed for my price thirty pieces of silver.

Psalm 35:12 KJV
They rewarded me evil for good to the spoiling of my soul.

Psalm 22:1-31 KJV
My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me? why art thou so far from helping me, and from the words of my roaring? [2] O my God, I cry in the daytime, but thou hearest not; and in the night season, and am not silent. [3] But thou art holy, O thou that inhabitest the praises of Israel. [4] Our fathers trusted in thee: they trusted, and thou didst deliver them. [5] They cried unto thee, and were delivered: they trusted in thee, and were not confounded. [6] But I am a worm, and no man; a reproach of men, and despised of the people. [7] All they that see me laugh me to scorn: they shoot out the lip, they shake the head, saying , [8] He trusted on the Lord that he would deliver him: let him deliver him, seeing he delighted in him. [9] But thou art he that took me out of the womb: thou didst make me hope when I was upon my mother’s breasts. [10] I was cast upon thee from the womb: thou art my God from my mother’s belly. [11] Be not far from me; for trouble is near; for there is none to help. [12] Many bulls have compassed me: strong bulls of Bashan have beset me round. [13] They gaped upon me with their mouths, as a ravening and a roaring lion. [14] I am poured out like water, and all my bones are out of joint: my heart is like wax; it is melted in the midst of my bowels. [15] My strength is dried up like a potsherd; and my tongue cleaveth to my jaws; and thou hast brought me into the dust of death. [16] For dogs have compassed me: the assembly of the wicked have inclosed me: they pierced my hands and my feet. [17] I may tell all my bones: they look and stare upon me. [18] They part my garments among them, and cast lots upon my vesture. [19] But be not thou far from me, O Lord : O my strength, haste thee to help me. [20] Deliver my soul from the sword; my darling from the power of the dog. [21] Save me from the lion’s mouth: for thou hast heard me from the horns of the unicorns. [22] I will declare thy name unto my brethren: in the midst of the congregation will I praise thee. [23] Ye that fear the Lord , praise him; all ye the seed of Jacob, glorify him; and fear him, all ye the seed of Israel. [24] For he hath not despised nor abhorred the affliction of the afflicted; neither hath he hid his face from him; but when he cried unto him, he heard. [25] My praise shall be of thee in the great congregation: I will pay my vows before them that fear him. [26] The meek shall eat and be satisfied: they shall praise the Lord that seek him: your heart shall live for ever. [27] All the ends of the world shall remember and turn unto the Lord : and all the kindreds of the nations shall worship before thee. [28] For the kingdom is the Lord’s : and he is the governor among the nations. [29] All they that be fat upon earth shall eat and worship: all they that go down to the dust shall bow before him: and none can keep alive his own soul. [30] A seed shall serve him; it shall be accounted to the Lord for a generation. [31] They shall come, and shall declare his righteousness unto a people that shall be born, that he hath done this .

The Bible Is A Unified Book
The sixty-six books of the Bible were written by some thirty-five or forty different authors, on three continents, over a period of 1,800 years. These men came from all walks of life, differing greatly from one another, but their writings never contradict. These books COMPLIMENT one another. Such an accomplishment would be impossible if the Holy Spirit were not the Divine Author.

image

The Bible Is An Interesting Book
Unlike other books, the Bible is read by all classes of people. A small remnant of people from all walks of life share an interest in the Bible (educated, non-educated, old, young, male, female, black, white, rich, poor, etc.)

The Bible Is A Best-Selling Book
Over 800,000,000 copies sold since 1611. Over 2,000,000 per year, and over 5000 per day. This is a very conservative estimate, and it doesn’t include those translated for missionary work.

The Bible Is A Blessed Book
It has changed more lives than any other book in world history. Eighty-eight percent of the colleges in America were founded for the purpose of teaching God’s word and training missionaries.

Many literary countries are the product of Bible-believing Christianity. Nations and individuals always prosper when Bible principles are followed.

The Bible Is A Preserved Book
If the Bible is only a man-written book, then why does it still exist?

Satan has fought endlessly to rid the world of the Bible, yet it still exists today.

Everything that man accomplishes eventually falls apart (wonders of the world, educational system, governments, etc.), but the Bible lives on.

Psalm 12:6-7 KJV
The words of the Lord are pure words: as silver tried in a furnace of earth, purified seven times. [7] Thou shalt keep them, O Lord , thou shalt preserve them from this generation for ever.

Matthew 24:35-44 KJV
Heaven and earth shall pass away, but my words shall not pass away. [36] But of that day and hour knoweth no man , no, not the angels of heaven, but my Father only. [37] But as the days of Noe were , so shall also the coming of the Son of man be. [38] For as in the days that were before the flood they were eating and drinking, marrying and giving in marriage, until the day that Noe entered into the ark, [39] And knew not until the flood came, and took them all away; so shall also the coming of the Son of man be. [40] Then shall two be in the field; the one shall be taken, and the other left. [41] Two women shall be grinding at the mill; the one shall be taken, and the other left. [42] Watch therefore: for ye know not what hour your Lord doth come. [43] But know this, that if the goodman of the house had known in what watch the thief would come, he would have watched, and would not have suffered his house to be broken up. [44] Therefore be ye also ready: for in such an hour as ye think not the Son of man cometh.

image

Leave a Reply

